Qualification Description

This qualification reflects the role of community services workers involved in the delivery, management and coordination of person-centred services to individuals, groups, and communities.

At this level, workers have specialised skills in community services and work autonomously within their scope of practice under broad directions from senior management.

Workers support people to make change in their lives to improve personal and social wellbeing and may also have responsibility for the supervision of other workers and volunteers. They may also undertake case management and program coordination.

To achieve this qualification, the candidate must have completed at least 200 hours of work as detailed in the Assessment Requirements of units of competency.

The skills in this qualification must be applied in accordance with Commonwealth and State or Territory legislation, Australian standards and industry codes of practice.

No occupational licensing, certification or specific legislative requirements apply to this qualification at the time of publication.

Entry Requirements

There are no entry requirements for this qualification.

Packaging Rules

20 units must be completed:

  • 12 core units
  • 8 elective units, consisting of:
  • at least 6 units from amongst the electives listed in Group A, B, C, D or E below
  • up to 2 units from the electives listed below, any endorsed Training Package or accredited course.

Where appropriate, electives may be packaged to provide a qualification with a specialisation.

Packaging for each specialisation: 

  • at least 4 Group A electives must be selected for the award of Diploma of Community Services(Case Management)
  • at least 3 Group B electives must be selected for award of the Diploma of Community Services (Social Housing)
  • at least 3 Group C electives must be selected for award of the Diploma of Community Services (Child, Youth and Family Welfare)
  • at least 3 Group D electives must be selected for award of the Diploma of Community Services (Responding to Family Violence).

Where two or more specialisations are completed, this should be noted on the testamur when awarding the qualification. For example, Diploma of Community Services (Case Management, Social Housing and Child, Youth and Family Welfare).

All electives chosen must contribute to a valid, industry-supported vocational outcome.